Sorry!! The article you are trying to read is not available now.

USDA Declares Every Single County in Arkansas a Natural Disaster Area, Offers Low-Interest Emergency Loans

Print comment Post Comments
From the Associated Press:

"The U.S. Department of Agriculture says all 75 counties in Arkansas have been designated as primary natural disaster areas.

"In its announcement this week, the federal agency says the declarations are the result of 'drought, excessive heat and related insects and diseases.'"

Farmers in the disaster areas--which means any farmer in any of the 75 counties in the entire state of Arkansas--"can apply for low-interest emergency loans through the USDA's Farm Service Agency in their county. USDA spokeswoman Tanya Brown says applications are accepted for about eight months and usually are processed in about 30 days."

It appears soybean farmers have been hit hardest.

Well, that settles it. First round of post-holiday drinks is on everyone who was short soybeans.
POSITION:  No positions in stocks mentioned.