Sorry!! The article you are trying to read is not available now.

Facebook "Photo Memories" Feature to Start Sparing Your Feelings

Print comment Post Comments
Facebook may not care about your privacy much, but at least it’s making an effort to spare your feelings.

A couple months ago, the social-networking site added a feature called Photo Memories, designed to keep you clicking on old content by digging up photos from the past tagged with your friends.

According to some users, though, a disproportionate number of those memories ended up being painful ones. For whatever reason -- maybe because the site detected a history of obsessively clicking through their photo albums -- Facebook’s secretive algorithms seemed to favor displaying pictures of users’ exes. This caused enough heartache to lead to the creation of a Facebook page, “I HATE PHOTO MEMORIES,” which is currently hovering around 750 members.

Unlike most user complaints about Facebook (isn’t there a page professing hate for just about every change the site’s ever introduced?), this one caught the attention of the site’s designers.

On a blog post on that had degenerated into a lengthy comment thread about the ex problem, Sam Odio, product manager for Facebook photos, dropped in Monday to report a change: Photo Memories will no longer show pictures tagged with friends who you previously listed yourself as “in a relationship” with.

Of course, if you want this protection, you have to use the “in a relationship” feature in the first place … which means sharing more information with your network than many people prefer. Very clever, Facebook.
POSITION:  No positions in stocks mentioned.